Bridge of Weir Community Council

Go to content

Main menu:

31 March

Ice Hockey Club Record > 1932-33

Mitchell Trophy Final Bridge of Weir 0 Bears 1

"The Bears gained the honour of winning the Mitchell Trophy at the Scottish Ice Rink, Crossmyloof, Glasgow last night when they defeated Bridge of Weir, the Canada Cup winners, in the final tie.

It was a well deserved victory for although Bridge of Weir had the greater share of the exchanges, Bears were more dangerous in their raids and their defence played in heroic fashion throughout. Bridge of Weir lost their heads when a goal down and thereafter played in erratic fashion seldom being really dangerous.

J R Gilmour had the first real shot of the game and A Ross was lucky to find the puck strike him after he had failed to catch it. W H Dunlop had brilliant saves from I S McLeod and R E Muirhead. R F Winfield then scored a well taken goal for Bears when he gathered the puck cleanly from A Rintoul and crashed it past Ross from a narrow angle.

W S McLeod had a great chance to equalise in the opening stages of the second period but he put the puck over the goal from a few yards out. Dunlop saved brilliantly from I S McLeod and then in a scrum in front of the goal later, the Bears goaltender again did well to keep a shot from W G McDonald from finding the net.

In the final period, McDonald was sent to the boards but was recalled much to the surprise of the spectators. Bridge of Weir scored from a desperate scrum in the goalmouth but the goal was disallowed for a palpable infringement. Then, I S McLeod scored but that goal was not allowed to stand either.

A minute before the finish the referee mistakenly called for the conclusion of the game but the players had to be recalled to play the extra minute.

The trophy was presented to Bears at the close by Mrs Mitchell, wife of the donor."

Bridge of Weir: A Ross; W M Muirhead and J K Woodrow; W S McLeod, W G McDonald and R E Muirhead.- A F Reid and I S McLeod.

Bears: W H Dunlop; R O MacDonald and J R Gilmour; A Rintoul, J Johnstone and R F Winfield.- L S Sproule, C Russell, N C McKenzie and H W Reid.

Referee: D B A Carty (SIHA).

Home Page | Map | Members | Council Info | Meetings | History | Web Links | Gala Day | Political Links | Ice Hockey | Ice Hockey Club Record | Poetry | Go 2010 | Go 2011 | The Bridge | Xmas Lights | Community Garden | MIR Map | Playday 20th May | Site Map

Back to content | Back to main menu